ArcGIS Desktop Student License and ArcGIS Pro

10-16-2021 08:07 PM
MeloiMagpantay
New Contributor

Hi. I am a student. I recently purchased an ArcGIS Desktop student license and I've read all the documentations about it. As I understood, ArcGIS Pro is included in this license. However, I can't use ArcGIS Pro and I don't know why. I have tried all the solutions I could find in the documentations but the solutions didn't fix my problem.

Here is the pop-up message when I log in on ArcGIS Pro even after I have configured my ArcGIS Online Organization:

"Your account is not licensed for ArcGIS Pro. Please ask your organization administrator to assign you an add-on ArcGIS Pro license or a user type that includes ArcGIS Pro (e.g. GIS Professional)."

0 Kudos
14 Replies
JayantaPoddar
MVP Esteemed Contributor

Did you purchase ArcGIS for Personal Use license? In that case, could you confirm that you can see GIS Professional Advanced (User Type) in your ArcGIS Online> Organization > Licenses?

Think Location
0 Kudos
MeloiMagpantay
New Contributor

I have purchased an ArcGIS for Student Use license. But I can't see anything indicating that it is a Professional Advanced (User Type).

0 Kudos
MeloiMagpantay
New Contributor

MeloiMagpantay_0-1634452951392.png

0 Kudos
JayantaPoddar
MVP Esteemed Contributor

So, you have a Creator User Type. Do you see ArcGIS Pro in the Add-on Licenses section? If yes, you can assign the ArcGIS Pro license to your named user.

Note: According to ArcGIS for Student Use Pricing | Add License to ArcGIS (esri.com), you are eligible for GIS Professional Advanced user type. ArcGIS Pro is included in it, and no need to add it from the add-on licenses section. Please contact Esri Support to update your User Type from Creator to GIS Professional Advanced (at no additional cost).

Think Location
0 Kudos
MeloiMagpantay
New Contributor

MeloiMagpantay_0-1634469566314.png