Conditional Visibility w/ Arcade in AGOL – Show/hide pop up field based on attribute value in another field

Jump to solution
01-18-2022 11:39 AM
RyanR
by
New Contributor II

Hello. I am new to Arcade and my current task is to hide or show an attribute field and value if another field in the same table meets a condition. I am wondering if I can create an expression to do so. I have seen some examples in Field Maps, but not in AGOL or Portal.

For starters the layer I am using in my map is a hosted feature layer view with configured domain values.  

Example. If the field ProblemType =’s the views domain value of ‘Dead animal’ then show Location on Road field and its value in pop up. If it does not = ‘Dead animal’ then hide.

A couple thoughts.  I know I can create an expression to hide or show the field I want the condition for. Easy right.

IIF(ProbType == "Dead Animal", "inline", "None")

But how do I add another field, the one I want to actually hide/show ($feature.locroad) into this statement or another type of logic to accomplish my task?  

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
RyanR
by
New Contributor II

Good point and thanks. A fresh head this am, some good coffee, and a dive into the documentation provided me with what I needed for success. Simple once I understood proper syntax of function.

var deadanimal = $feature.probtype == "DEAD ANIMAL";
var roadloc = $feature.locroad;
IIf(deadanimal, roadloc, "None");

Now to see if this will work in Citizen Problem Reporters built in from, which I believe behaves based on pop up configuration.  

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
6 Replies
jcarlson
MVP Esteemed Contributor

Can you elaborate a bit? The expression you've shared could be used anywhere in your popup text to show/hide not just a field value, but entire HTML elements.

For instance, this HTML in your popup would display the locroad field based on an expression, but the expression itself could evaluate against anything.