Error with custom reference layer

04-28-2022 07:24 AM
DavidLeitson
New Contributor

Hi, I'm having a problem creating a map with the following custom reference layer from ArcGIS Online:

https://miamigis.maps.arcgis.com/home/item.html?id=3341918a688c4e609c82a6dbe77aef2f

Is it not possible to use a custom reference layer that has geographic units that do not correspond to known geographies such as zip codes, block groups, etc? 

0 Kudos
10 Replies
AnthonyLatini
Esri Contributor

@DavidLeitson - Hello there! My name is Anthony and I am a product engineer on the ArcGIS for Power BI visual. I was looking over this issue and I would like to help out if I can!

Would it be possible to make this a public layer? I would like to test this out on my end and see what results I get. Also, if possible, could you post some screenshots of what you are seeing? 

Depending on the layer, it might not be supported in ArcGIS for Power BI. However, most layers are supported in the visual. 

0 Kudos
DavidLeitson
New Contributor

Hi there Anthony, thank you for your help! I believe the layer is already public. I see the sharing level is set to "Everyone (public)."

0 Kudos
AnthonyLatini
Esri Contributor

@DavidLeitson - Awesome! Thank you for verifying that is was public. 

I was able to add this to our map using the following map ID: 3341918a688c4e609c82a6dbe77aef2f 

Let me know if you can add it on your end using that map ID! 

AnthonyLatini_0-1651526853877.png

0 Kudos
DavidLeitson
New Contributor

Hi Anthony, yes I'm able to add the map to ArcGIS for PowerBI. But I'm not able to link my data to the map. The location field should be TARGET_FID or TARGET_STR. Either one. 

0 Kudos
AnthonyLatini
Esri Contributor