npm errors on client install

08-03-2021 11:54 AM
CassKalinski
Occasional Contributor

I downloaded the developer's edition of Experience Builder this morning. The server side install went fine. When I went to execute the client npm ci, I got a list of deprecation errors from npm. (Screen shot attached.)

Ran this with node 14.15.4. Upgraded to 14.17.4 and had the same results.

Client seems to start fine.

Are these errors 'normal'? Should I apply the npm audit fix or fix --force?

I am new to node.js as well as Experience Builder, so suspect I am just missing something.

0 Kudos
9 Replies
DrVSSKiran
Occasional Contributor II

Try to run npm from folder where your package.json is located. 

0 Kudos
CassKalinski
Occasional Contributor

Hi DrVSSKiran, that I did. Per the install instructions, I cd to the client folder and ran npm ci. There is a package.json in that folder.

0 Kudos
DrVSSKiran

Try to uninstall the depricated packages and run again.

0 Kudos
CassKalinski
Occasional Contributor

I have to wonder why would I be getting errors like this off a fresh install, using Esri's own packaging?

0 Kudos
CourtneyMenikheim
Occasional Contributor

npm is short for node package manager
Experience Builder uses a lot of node packages, a number of which are probably imported from outside Esri. Those packages could have any number of other node packages as dependencies, and so on. It's not uncommon when working with node. That's why the package manager has a built-in audit process and way to repair it.

Courtney Menikheim | Application Developer | @thecmenikheim
0 Kudos
DrVSSKiran

Try to do fresh install and run the npm package again. If you find the depricated packages uninstall it. Use the package manager to perform audit the packages and fix it. 

0 Kudos
CassKalinski
Occasional Contributor

Understood on npm. Like pip with Python modules then. It just seems very odd that the packages EB is has listed in its package.json is throwing this kind of mess out there.