AnsweredAssumed Answered

Populate Field with partial data from another local field

Question asked by kdegraf4 on Jul 30, 2012
Latest reply on Jul 31, 2012 by kdegraf4
I have a field (HUC12_ID) that I want to populate with data from another field (VALUE) which is in the same table. The problem is I only want to use part of the data from the VALUE field. I wrote a script to to try and accomplish this but it keeps giving me this error:

Runtime error <type 'exceptions.RuntimeError'>: ERROR 999999: Error executing function.

I have written several variations of the script but all have returned the same error. Could someone give me a hint as to why my script is not doing what I want it to? I just started learning python last weekend and am at my wits end with this thing lol.