ArcCATALOG10:Using Table to Domain tool to create a domain from a table for GBD Sche

01-30-2012 11:25 AM
ScottChang
New Contributor II
Hi all,
I bought a copy of book �??GISTUTORIAL3 Advanced Workbook�?� written by David W. Allen and Jeffery M. Coffey. In the last few months, I studied Computer Aid Software Engineering (CASE) and Unified Modeling Language (UML) and did the ESRI Tutorial "Designing Geodatabases with Visio 2007 in ArcGIS 10" to understand the creating of the geodatabases schema. Now, I come back to do the Creating a geodatabase, Chapter 2 of the book �??GISTUTORIAL3 Advanced Workbook�?�. I am doing its Tutorial 2-1, Building a geodatabase (from Page34 to Page 42): I have difficulties to do the first 3 steps (on Pages 42 & 43) of Create a domain from a table - please see the attached file for details.   Please kindly help and tell me how I can start the Steps 1 and 2 on Page 42 worked for me. 
Thanks,
Scott Chang
0 Kudos
4 Replies
ScottChang
New Contributor II
To ESRI:
I am sure that the Table to Domain tool for the tool's dialog box in my ArcCatalog 10 is not working for me - it is a bug in your software.  (1) Please fix it. (2) Is any different way (like Python programming) to get the Table to Domain task done in ArcCatalog 10?  Please kindly respond and advise.
Thanks,
Scott Chang
0 Kudos
RussellBrennan
Esri Contributor
To ESRI:
I am sure that the Table to Domain tool for the tool's dialog box in my ArcCatalog 10 is not working for me - it is a bug in your software.  (1) Please fix it. (2) Is any different way (like Python programming) to get the Table to Domain task done in ArcCatalog 10?  Please kindly respond and advise.
Thanks,
Scott Chang

I am able to run the table to domain tool without issue. Can you please post sample data and a screenshot of the parameters you are using to run the tool?
0 Kudos
ScottChang
New Contributor II
Hi Russell, Thanks for your response.