Occasional Contributor II
Hi -

I'm new to modelbuilder and wondering how to build a model that will:

a. take an input a layer of points
b. for each point in layer, select by location or buffer 1 mile
c. select polygons with centroid in buffer
d. create summary table of specific fields from those selected polygons
e. calculate the facility ID
f. join summary table back to the point feature.

1) Not sure if my model structure makes sense
2) I can't figure out how to capture the Facility ID so the summary table can be joined back.

Are there any good examples out there? Is someone willing to share a model?

I know conceptually it can be done but I'm so lost in understanding how to setup the parameters and have the model do one facility at a time. Any articles, guides, or anything would be appreciated.

Thanks,
m.
0 Kudos
12 Replies
DuncanHornby
MVP Notable Contributor
Mono,

You do not say which version of ArcGIS you are using. You need to tell us this so we can help you.

If you are using ArcGIS 10 then there is the new and very useful Feature Selection iterator, this will help with you model logic. Information about this can be found here.

Duncan
0 Kudos
MōnoSimeone
Doh! ArcGIS 10 - ArcInfo

Thanks Duncan, I read up on these "iterators". I kind of understand from the example what the Feature Selection iterator is doing. However, are the facilities the input or the buffer? The Facilities right? And Ill have to create the buffer as a second model and use that as the precondition to the Feature Selection?

Besides, I still don't understand how the FAC ID will be added to the summary table to enable a join back to the Facility features. I'm not sure it helps but I decided to make the Buffer Dissolve type = List and expose the Dissolve field parameter which I can pass on the FAC ID to the buffer layer input.