Summing but not all attributes during Spatial Join

05-13-2014 01:26 PM
PolinaBerenstein
New Contributor
Hi, I am writing a script that is supposed to output an arithmetic function based on a spatial join of census tracts to a multipart buffer layer.

The function requires some census tract features summed (aka all tract populations within a buffer range get summed together) but other features to remain as attributes of that tract.

I have no experience with FieldMapping objects, and would like to start off by specifying which attributes get summed. Seems simple, but I have not found a template I can easily follow online, so.... any ideas?

I had originally assumed it would be as easy as simply setting the merge rule, but it seems that I would have to create a whole new object, and the ArcGIS help is very confusing for Field Mapping.
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
4 Replies
BradPosthumus
Occasional Contributor II
Field mapping isn't completely straight-forward but once you understand how to get started it's not too bad. The second code sample in the Spatial Join help explains how to set it up fairly well: http://resources.arcgis.com/en/help/main/10.1/index.html#//00080000000q000000

For your case, make a new field mapping object and populate it with the fields from the attribute tables. The field mapping object will now contain all of the field maps for your fields (using default values). Now you can pull out the field map for the field to sum, change the merge rule, then put it back in the field mapping object.

import arcpy
arcpy.env.overwriteOutput = True

targetFeatures = r'C:\data.gdb\bufferLayer'
joinFeatures = r'C:\data.gdb\censusTracts'
outputFeatures = r'C:\data.gdb\spatialJoinOutput'

# create a list of fields to sum
fieldNamesToSum = ['CENSUS_FIELD_TO_SUM_1', 'CENSUS_FIELD_TO_SUM_2']

# create the field mapping object
fieldMappings = arcpy.FieldMappings()

# populate the field mapping object with the fields from both feature classes