HELP ME PLEASE! Script to clip and ROI using a shape file

03-24-2014 01:08 PM
SamanthaSmyth
New Contributor
Hi! Please help me! I created a script a few weeks ago which would create an ROI using the clipping geometry tool from a shapefile. The script had originally worked and now will only error out. I cannot for the life of me figure out what went wrong. I'm very new to coding and non of my professors can help me to determine what is happening. Here is a copy of my script:

import arcpy
arcpy.env.workspace= r'D:\rmnp\SamSOrgNDVIData\ND 1989 - 1999\nd1990'
out_raster= r'D:\rmnp\SamSOrgNDVIData\Test1990\\'
rastList= arcpy.ListRasters()
for rast in rastList:
    arcpy.Clip_management(rast, "#", out_raster + rast[:-4] + 'Clipped.tif', 'D:\\Shape File Buffer\\RMNPBuff1km.shp', '#', "ClippingGeometry")

Every time I try to run it I get the error: Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "D:/fack.py", line 6, in <module>
    arcpy.Clip_management(rast, "#", out_raster + rast[:-4] + 'Clipped.tif', 'D:\\Shape File Buffer\\RMNPBuff1km.shp', '#', "ClippingGeometry")
  File "C:\Program Files (x86)\ArcGIS\Desktop10.1\arcpy\arcpy\management.py", line 12021, in Clip
    raise e
ExecuteError: ERROR 999999: Error executing function.
Failed to execute (Clip).
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
3 Replies
ClintDow
Occasional Contributor
That "ExecuteError: ERROR 999999: Error executing function." usually means something isn't right with the input parameters for the geoprocessing tool in question. I would guess its probably the parameter: out_raster + rast[:-4] + 'Clipped.tif'

The rast[:-4] will only work if rast has an extension, if its a grid format raster it won't have a file extension. Perhaps try out_raster + rast.split('.')[0] +'Clipped.tif' instead. This will ensure you only get the name of the raster regardless of the file extension or lack thereof.