ArcSDE/SQL Server/weekly maintenance workflow question

03-01-2014 08:36 AM
jennifergarner
New Contributor II
Hello everyone-

I am a GIS Analyst and manager that was tech savvy enough to be the one assigned with the task to manage and maintain our new enterprise GIS. I do not have a CS background and do not have any programming knowledge as of yet (although Python is on my "to do" list). I  love working with computers: software and physically building out my own systems, and have always had an interest in databases among other things.

I am in the process of learning SQL Server 2012, but it is slow going as I am also managing Arcserver/Citrix and working on a team of 3 to train about 30 non-traditional GIS users on ArcMap. We are migrating over from MapInfo. I am also developing exercises and workflows for training while still creating maps along with these other tasks. I am currently the only data editor for our versioned database. I hope to train others if things ever slow down a little. I worked directly with consultants to help develop our schema and am making tweaks to it as we roll new testers on to the system. I have set it up so our users can edit points and basic data in our main feature classes, but none know how to do any data checks and make sure all the foreign keys to the related information, match up. I'm also doing any QC checks for things like duplicates, incorrect domain edits in the attributes, etc...basically anything that would mess up a query or is wrong.