Network Analyst: Network Dataset Creation Issues

07-15-2010 03:24 AM
FanieMinnie
New Contributor
Hi there,

I'm quite new to the network analyst toolset and would like to perform a basic service area analysis but I am having bit of trouble with creating a network dataset in ArcCatalogue...

I have ensured that the network analyst extension has been activated in Main menu\Tools\Extensions but when I right click on my source polyline shapefile (roads) in ArcCatalogue the "New Network Dataset" option is unselectable.

I have searched for a solution in the ArcGIS Desktop help function, the Network Analyst Tutorial .pdf document and various forums and I have reached the conclusion that that my input shapefile does not have the required fields in its attribute table and/or has polyline connectivity errors that prevent it from being used as source data for the creation of a network dataset.

So how do I make it work? I basically just want to calculate pedestrian travel times from certain points along (but unconnected to) a road network...

Any input and suggestions will be greatly appreciated!
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
7 Replies
MichaelRice
New Contributor III
Here is a quick checklist to help troubleshoot this issue:

1. When you made sure the extension was checked on, did you do this from ArcMap or ArcCatalog? If you are trying to build the dataset in ArcCatalog, you must ensure the extension is enabled there. Ideally, if you are using Network Analyst, you should enable the extension in both ArcMap and ArcCatalog.

2. Is your source polyline feature class really a shapefile, or is it perhaps a source feature class in a geodatabase? If it is a shapefile, then you should be able to right click on it to create a new network dataset, as you suggested. However, if it is a feature class in a geodatabase, then you must right click on the feature dataset that contains the source feature class to create a new network dataset.