How to Create a New Feature Service

02-24-2014 03:11 PM
StephanieKiefer
New Contributor
I am a high school teacher and am trying to use ArcGIS Online to map sites where my students assess stream water quality on a creek near our school.  I have experience with ArcGIS Desktop (being a former GIS Analyst), but have very limited experience with ArcGIS Online. 

Is there a way to create a new point feature service with a custom attribute table using ArcGIS Online?  If not, and I need ArcGIS Desktop to do this, are there any special offers for public school educators (and who would I contact)?
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
6 Replies
JimWright
New Contributor
I am a high school teacher and am trying to use ArcGIS Online to map sites where my students assess stream water quality on a creek near our school.  I have experience with ArcGIS Desktop (being a former GIS Analyst), but have very limited experience with ArcGIS Online. 

Is there a way to create a new point feature service with a custom attribute table using ArcGIS Online?  If not, and I need ArcGIS Desktop to do this, are there any special offers for public school educators (and who would I contact)?

First question is do you have a subscription account for AGOL? If so you can do it using the ArcGIS for Developer website here https://developers.arcgis.com/en/

Log in and go to the hosted data page then the steps to create your own custom feature service are very easy to follow.

Jim
0 Kudos
TimWitt
Frequent Contributor
If you want your own symbology and if you have an ArcGIS organizational account/developer account, you can do the following in ArcGIS Desktop.

Open your mxd with the shapefile you want to upload. Symbolize the shapefile like you want it to look once uploaded.
After that do the following.

Click on "File" -> "Sign in..." and sign into your organizational account.
Click on "File" -> "Share As" -> "Share as Service" -> "Publish a service"