Importing e00 files

02-08-2014 01:04 PM
UrennaOnyewuchi
New Contributor
Hi. I am new to ArcGIS. I opened up ArcMap for visualization and to run analysis on a database. One of the contents of my database folder is an .e00 file. That is, an ArcInfo Workstation export interchange file. I'd like to import this file into ArcMap. So, I opened up a Python window and typed in the following commands. It is an example from ArcGIS 10.2.1 Help. I changed my environment settings to the location of the e00 file and used the same location for my output data. When I ran "arcpy.Import_arc(...)", I got the following error.

AttributeError: Object: Tool or environment <Import_arc> not found

Could you please tell me how to fix this? I opened up arc.py and the file has Import_arc. So, I'm not sure why I am getting the error. Thank you!!

# Name: Import_Example.py
# Description: Imports from E00 format to a coverage
# Requirements: ArcInfo Workstation

# Import system modules
import arcpy
from arcpy import env

# Set environment settings
env.workspace = "C:/data"

# Set local variables
featureType = "COVER"
interchangeFile = "citylim.e00"
outDataset = "C:/output/citylimit"

# Execute Import
arcpy.Import_arc(featureType, interchangeFile, outDataset)
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
6 Replies
KimOllivier
Occasional Contributor III
The name of the tool seems to have changed to
arcpy.ImportFromE00_conversion()

import arcpy

arcpy.env.workspace = "C:/data"
arcpy.ImportFromE00_conversion("citylim.e00", "C:/output", "citylim")
0 Kudos
UrennaOnyewuchi
New Contributor
Thanks a lot Kim. I tried the new command. Now I have this error to deal with. 😞

Runtime error  Traceback (most recent call last):   File "<string>", line 1, in <module>   File "c:\program files (x86)\arcgis\desktop10.2\arcpy\arcpy\conversion.py", line 1605, in ImportFromE00     raise e ExecuteError: Failed to execute. Parameters are not valid. ERROR 000814: Invalid file type Failed to execute (ImportFromE00).