Starter Javascript webmap that does NOT use ArcGIS.com?

01-28-2014 10:36 AM
AaronKreag
Occasional Contributor
I have a few REST services that I would like to display over an ESRI basemap (imagery, streets and topo) and have a simple legend, search tool and such, nothing too flashy.  Right now I have an html index page in my flex apps that detect a mobile or tablet and send the request off to an app in a mobile folder.  This is currently the local government parcel viewer on github.  It will automatically scale and adjust when being consumed on a variety of mobile and tablet devices.  I like it.  However, every one of these out of the box javascript webmap apps points towards a webmap id that is somehow related to web maps that a person needs to set up, build, host in a public setting on ArcGIS.com.  I can not have this set up on ArcGIS.com.  Anyone point me in a direction??  I am not a developer but have built some web mapping apps and have them running.  Anyone want to help me get over this annoying ArcGIS.com dependency?  Thank you!
0 Kudos
5 Replies
TracySchloss
Frequent Contributor
When looking at the examples, you don't want the ones that mention 'web map'.  That is not a generic term, it means something in particular.  A Javascript webmap IS ArcGIS.com.  You'll need to look to some of the other samples to use your own map services that hosted locally.  A web map encapsulates several things, the combination of layers you have, the information tags that come up when you click etc.  You can't simply replace a few lines of code for 'webmap' and replace them with the Javascript 'map' object, which is basically a blank canvas. 

ESRI has a lot of cool web map templates to use, mostly based on ArcGIS.com hosted web maps.  If you don't want use that environment, you'll need to pass over those and look for other examples.
0 Kudos
AaronKreag
Occasional Contributor