Can not add my own map to the android application

07-26-2013 12:24 AM
EstherKunda
New Contributor
Hello,

I am new to Arcgis android and i wanted to add my own map: http://www.arcgis.com/home/webmap/viewer.html?webmap=f8ab9f0b818b4ece966c4b2cf91fa0c1 with the data layer visible but only the basemap is displaying.
0 Kudos
5 Replies
AndyGup
Esri Regular Contributor
Esther, make sure you are using the coding pattern for a "web map", which is a map created on ArcGIS.com.

package com.esri.arcgis.android.samples.webmap;

import android.app.Activity;
import android.os.Bundle;

import com.esri.android.map.MapView;

public class WebMap extends Activity {
 MapView mMapView = null;

@Override
 public void onCreate(Bundle savedInstanceState) {
  super.onCreate(savedInstanceState);

mMapView = new MapView(
    getApplicationContext(), 
    "http://www.arcgis.com/home/item.html?id=f8ab9f0b818b4ece966c4b2cf91fa0c1",
    null, null);
  setContentView(mMapView);

}

@Override
 protected void onPause() {
  super.onPause();
  mMapView.pause();
 }

@Override
 protected void onResume() {
  super.onResume(); 
  mMapView.unpause();
 } 

}
0 Kudos
ReenaMedavarapu
New Contributor

I happen to have the same problem as Esther, but when I attempted to use this code, AndroidStudio wouldn't let me import the MapView class like you did at the top. How do I fix this?

0 Kudos
EricBader
Occasional Contributor III

Reena, can you confirm that you've followed the steps in this tutorial? Develop your first map app with Java—ArcGIS Runtime SDK for Android | ArcGIS for Developers 

0 Kudos
EstherKunda
New Contributor
Hello Andygup,

Thank you for the response it worked perfectly but wonder why it was not included in the tutorial for first timers like me.