Seeking career advice

Jump to solution
07-01-2013 02:51 AM
JuliiBrainard
New Contributor
Don't laugh, I know I probably come across as quite sad.

If I were you're best friend, and this was my story, what would you advise?

I was an Arc/Info "expert" from 1990-2005.  I had an 8 yr career break to raise kids and am currently working as a researcher in
population health (fixed term contract).  I'm trying to figure out if I have any chance to get back into GIS.  I understand that
my AML &
command line knowledge is all obsolete. There are few GIS jobs where I live now, and no way to get any accredited training (I
already have lots of University degrees too).  I am toying with idea of moving to
San Diego where GIS jobs are well paid, but they all want 18months + experience; I have 15 yrs experience but sadly, all
obsolete (?I think). And I can't afford to live in SD without a well-paid job. 🙂

I am trying to figure out if I need to shelve the idea of ever returning to GIS.  I am getting hold of a Python for Dummies book,
I did read an SQL manual & that was all pretty obvious.  Not sure if there's any other way I could brush up my skills.  Thoughts?
Thx in Advance.
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Robert_LeClair
Esri Notable Contributor
Julii,

Great question!  I would strongly encourage you to pursue your GIS career as it's one of the more stable professions out there and there's quite a bit of career growth.  You are correct that ArcInfo Workstation and AML have gone the way of the dinosaur but you have a solid GIS foundation upon which to build.  I would recommend several things:

Learn ArcGIS for Desktop:  There are several tutorial books from Esri Press that will assist you with self paced training.  The first is GIS Tuturial 1:  Basic Workbook 10.1 Edition..  There are GIS Tutorials 2 and 3 to build upon as well.