ApplySymbologyFromLayer_management creates copy of a layer rather than updating it

Jump to solution
06-12-2013 01:05 PM
BenjaminBauman
Occasional Contributor
Hey all,

I'm very new to ArcPy, and have encountered a roadblock when trying to update a layer's symbology using ApplySymbologyFromLayer_management. It works, but it creates a copy of the target layer rather than updating it in place. In order to clean out the duplicates, I attempted to apply the RemoveLayer function to the original layer (as seen on the second to last line), but this did not seem to remove it from the TOC.

import arcpy from arcpy import analysis, env  workspace = arcpy.env.workspace = r"C:/temp"  arcpy.env.overwriteOutput = True  mxDoc = arcpy.mapping.MapDocument(r"X:/GisResources/Mxd Map Templates/HighUnemploymentCensusTracts_Template.mxd")  df = arcpy.mapping.ListDataFrames(mxDoc, "Detail Map") [0]  co_layer = arcpy.mapping.ListLayers(mxDoc,"",df) [0]  co_name = "NAME"  rows = arcpy.SearchCursor(co_layer)  for row in rows:     co = row.getValue(co_name)     whereClause = "NAME <> '%s'" % co     analysis.Select(co_layer, "Co_%s" % co, whereClause)     arcpy.ApplySymbologyFromLayer_management("Co_%s" % co, "Export_Output_21")     inputLayer = arcpy.mapping.Layer("Co_%s" % co)     arcpy.mapping.RemoveLayer(df, inputLayer)      arcpy.RefreshActiveView()
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
RhettZufelt
MVP Frequent Contributor
Well, without the time to dive into this, this is the way I would approach it as I am doing something very similar and this method works for me.

Also, I'm not back until monday either. gotta love 4-10s.

Thank you both. Unfortunately, I won't be back in the office until Monday, so I will not be able to try out your suggestions until then. In the meantime, I can explain the purposes of this script. Text in bold indicates instructions that exist within the current script, as seen on the OP.