New to GIS and need help!!

05-09-2013 12:28 PM
carlaavila
New Contributor
Hello there,

I'm trying to convert from raster to vector using the raster to polygon tool but I keep getting an error (000864). It says that the input is not in the defined domain and I'm not sure what that means. Do I have to do another conversion before this one?

thank you,

im extremely new to arcmap.
0 Kudos
3 Replies
YamMagar
New Contributor II
Hello,
Have you tried looking at Results under Geoprocessing ?
0 Kudos
XanderBakker
Esri Esteemed Contributor
Hello there,

I'm trying to convert from raster to vector using the raster to polygon tool but I keep getting an error (000864). It says that the input is not in the defined domain and I'm not sure what that means. Do I have to do another conversion before this one?

thank you,

im extremely new to arcmap.

Hi Carla,

As Milan indicates you should have a look at the error description, which you can access through the Menu "Geoprocessing", option "Results". This will open the Results Window which lists the Geoprocessing tools and any errors that may have occurred. Expand the tool that generated the error and below expand the "Messages". See an example below:

[ATTACH=CONFIG]27293[/ATTACH]

This will reveal the error and provides a link to the Help on that error. In your case (in 10.2) 000864 will point to:
http://resources.arcgis.com/en/help/main/10.2/index.html#//00vp00000012000864

000864 : <value>: The input is not within the defined domain. <value>.

Description
The specified input is not valid for the parameter. You might have tried to use a value for the parameter that is not one of the defined options or is not a valid type or perhaps made a typing error. The command syntax will identify the valid options for each function. For example, the options for the Filter type parameter are only LOW or HIGH. No other text string will be accepted.

Solution