Flow Direction tool not calculating approperiate values from a burned DEM

06-11-2010 09:16 AM
Labels (1)
JontyKnox
New Contributor II
I am conducting some watershed work in conjunction with land use etc and I recently had to burn my streams into my DEM so a proper flow accumulation of the area could be calculated.
The burn of the streams went well, but now when I try and calculate the flow direction instead of getting the standard 1,2,4,8,16,32,64 and 128 I have values ranging from 1 to 248. Most of the pixels are the standard values but there are in the region of 10,000 pixels that aren't.
Needless to say this completely throws off my flow accumulation grid and I can no longer calculate my watersheds.
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
9 Replies
jamiefinney
New Contributor III
I had this exact same problem when i was running this stage and i could never get it to work. I'm fairly new to arc hydro and have been playing around with if for the last couple of weeks i only started to get it working properly when i installed a version from here: http://www.hec.usace.army.mil/software/hec-geohms/download.html or maybe here: http://www.hec.usace.army.mil/software/hec-geodozer/index.html now it seems to work fine and a few extra tools to boot!

These downloads contain both arc hydro and hec-geohms / dozer i've got them both installed at the moment hope this helps
0 Kudos
JimMonchak
New Contributor
Have you tried the "Fill Sinks" operation again?  I've run into the same problem after building walls or burning in the streams.  So, you may need to re-run the fill sinks after either of those operations-- then re-run the flow direction tool.

Jim
0 Kudos
JacquesTardie
New Contributor
I'm having the same problem here, except that my values are stopping at 196.

Going to try and refill the DEM I'm using.

Anyone found the reason this happens and a solution to fix it?
0 Kudos
AniaWajda
New Contributor