how can I eliminate "island" raster cells from a layer?

02-19-2013 05:29 PM
StephanieWeigel1
New Contributor
I want to clean up a raster layer by generalizing in a way that any "island" cells are eliminated.  There are only 2 values in the layer, 0 and 6.  So, for any cell that is currently of value 6 that is surrounded by all 8 cells with a value of 0, I want to change the "island" cell from a 6 to a zero.  

There must be a way to do this, but I am new to using raster analysis in arcgis and have tried everything I can think of.

Thanks for any ideas.
Stephanie
0 Kudos
6 Replies
DanPatterson_Retired
MVP Emeritus
There are a variety of methods but have you ruled out using a majority reclassify filter?
0 Kudos
StephanieWeigel1
New Contributor
I tried the Generalization--Majority Filter in the toolbox in all combinations but that didn't do it. I"m not sure that is what you are suggesting.  I apologize for not being up to speed on all the terminology so appreciate any explicit instructions.  I understand the concepts but am weak on the tools available.

thanks
STephanie
0 Kudos
MarkBoucher
Occasional Contributor III
You could do it "the hard way". I commented on another thread where the user wanted to analyze the values around a grid cell. I found the "Shift" tool. http://forums.arcgis.com/threads/75804-surface-angle-in-each-cardinal-direction?p=265962&viewfull=1#...

Later I used this myself for all 8 directions to make temporary grids for each of the 8 directions. Each shift is to one of the eight directions. My grid dimension is 10, so I have (10,10) (10,0) (10,-10), (0,-10), (0,10) (-10,10) (-10,0) (-10,-10). Then I used different tools to get the results I wanted.

You could do the same. If you use Cell Statistics tool with the choice of "Max" of the eight rasters, any place where the max is 0 and the original grid is 6 you should make the results 0.  Otherwise the value should be the same as the original. You can use
the Con() function for making this decision.