VBA/Macro's help (newby alert!)

01-22-2013 05:43 AM
DanielHardwick
New Contributor
Hi guys,

First post here... I work in GIS, using ArcGIS 9.2, and I am a complete newby to VBA macro's scripts etc.
I hope this is the right place to post this (did a search for VBA and this thread seem to come up).

Basically I only started using VBA because a user wanted to add a count of unique values to one of his shapefiles, and then the count to appear in his legend.

The count field displays the count when in layer properies>unique values, but as soon as you come out of that the count ends.

So I found a macro which takes existing Unique Value and calculates feature counts for each value, adding the count to each Class Label. Class Labels appear in the ArcMap Table of Contents and Legend.

After a bit of trial and error I got the script to work. The problem is the script doesn't work on every shapefile, it works on some but not others.

Here is the script;

Const DESCRIP_FIELD = "STATE_NAME"
Const CONCATENATE_TO_BUILD_DESCRIPTION = True
Const CONCAT_CHAR = vbNewLine

Option Explicit

Sub UniqueValues_LabelCount_and_DescripFromField()

Dim pDoc As IMxDocument
Set pDoc = ThisDocument
Dim pMap As IMap
Set pMap = pDoc.FocusMap
Dim pGeoLayer As IGeoFeatureLayer
Set pGeoLayer = pMap.Layer(0)

If Not TypeOf pGeoLayer.Renderer Is IUniqueValueRenderer Then
MsgBox "Current symbology is not Unique values. Exiting."
Exit Sub
End If

Dim pUVRend As IUniqueValueRenderer
Set pUVRend = pGeoLayer.Renderer

If pUVRend.FieldCount > 1 Then
MsgBox "Current Unique values symbology is based on multiple fields. Exiting."
Exit Sub
End If

Dim sFieldName As String
sFieldName = pUVRend.Field(0)

Dim i As Integer
Dim varValue As Variant

Dim pFeatClass As IFeatureClass
Set pFeatClass = pGeoLayer.FeatureClass

Dim varLabelDescrip As Variant
For i = 0 To pUVRend.ValueCount - 1
varValue = pUVRend.Value(i)
varLabelDescrip = GetLabelDescription(pFeatClass, pUVRend.Field(0), varValue)