I have a table that is something like:

Object    Year    Acres
1            1980   5
2            1979   3
3            1978   2
4            1980   8
5            1979   2
6            1976   6

I would like to use python to create a cumulative sum so that I end up with a table that looks like:
1976       6
1978       2
1979       5
1980       13

I'm going to be graphing this using matplotlib, showing trends in acres over time.

I'm a beginner with python. So far I've tried to use FeatureClasstoNumPyArray and numpy's cumsum, but I can't get the array structured correctly to sum by year. I think part of my problem is that I don't really understand how an attribute table gets converted to an array.

If numpy is the wrong approach, pleases let me know. My requirements are that I can graph cumulative acres over time from a dataset that has polygons of various sizes occuring in specific years. If it matters for processing time, this dataset has about 140,000 records. Also, if you have any suggestions for python graphing modules or sample code that will do with kind of thing well, I'd like to know about them.

thanks!
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
13 Replies
T__WayneWhitley
Frequent Contributor
You're making this harder than it needs to be... use the Summary Statistics tool (or the Frequency tool if you prefer and licensed for it).

You can simply execute the tool from Toolbox or script it, up to you, but it's the only tool you will need to perform this function...could also use a cursor, but it likely isn't necessary...

EDIT-  ...so Year would be your 'case' and Acres would be your 'statistic' to sum for.
MinhazulIslam919
New Contributor II

Thanks  a lot for the tip. It worked for me. Easy and neat.

0 Kudos
SpencerMeyer
New Contributor
Hello,

I would like to use python to create a cumulative sum so that I end up with a table that looks like:
1976       6
1978       2
1979       5
1980       13

Actually, I meant THIS is what I want:
1976       6
1978       8
1979       13