Calculate acreage in the Calculate field tool

12-14-2012 11:35 AM
DerekNewland
New Contributor III
Okay, so I am working on a model that is mostly just a series of tools.  However I have dissolved 2 data layers within the model and I wish to calculate the acreage of the 2 new layers which each consist of only 1 feature each. I have added the Add Field tool for both of my outputs and now need to calculate the field value within the model using the calculate field tool.  The problem is that I am a complete beginner in python and have no idea how to go about scripting this. It doesn't seem like this should be too much of an issue, but nothing I have found so far in the forum has helped me out. Anybody have any ideas? I still have to figure out how to calculate the percentage of overlap between the 2 layers after I get within my model as well.

Any help would be appreciated.

Derek
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
8 Replies
KevinHibma
Esri Regular Contributor
You're scripting, so you can use the Calculate Field tool to work this out.
See this link, it provides examples to Calc Field.
http://resources.arcgis.com/en/help/main/10.1/index.html#/Calculate_Field_examples/005s0000002m00000...

An example in your case:
Parser:
Python

Expression:
!shape.area@acres!

Side note - you can do a "Calculate Geometry" within the app, see the following:

http://resources.arcgis.com/en/help/main/10.1/index.html#//005s00000027000000
0 Kudos
DerekNewland
New Contributor III
Wait, it's really that simple?
0 Kudos
KevinHibma
Esri Regular Contributor
Unless I didn't understand your question completely, then yeah it should be.

You said:
I wish to calculate the acreage of the 2 new layers which each consist of only 1 feature each.

The instructions I gave will calc a field for a given layer. 1 to many features inside each layer will have their own acreage calculated on a per feature basis. So if I understand what you want to do, you'll have to do 2 calcs, once for each layer.
0 Kudos
DerekNewland