Eclipse's Emulator (ArcGIS Android App)?!!

10-16-2012 04:03 AM
ss3
by
New Contributor
Hello everyone,

I am new to Eclipse. I am trying to learn it step by step. I am trying to create an ArcGIS app for Android using "Eclipse IDE for Java EE Developers". I followed this tutorial  , and noticed this sentence: "Be sure to have an Android device connected to the machine. We do not support running in an Emulator."
My question is >>> How can I test my app? Is what have been mentioned is true?! I think that this tutorial is old because they are talking about old SDK version.
I thought about using the Eclipse's Emulator, and I tried it, but the app didn't work properly!! I am confused right now; because I don't know whether the problem is that:
                       1) ArcGIS apps don't work on Emulator!
                       2) or My code is wrong!

Thanks.
0 Kudos
6 Replies
JMontgomery
New Contributor
Hello everyone,

I am new to Eclipse. I am trying to learn it step by step. I am trying to create an ArcGIS app for Android using "Eclipse IDE for Java EE Developers". I followed this tutorial  , and noticed this sentence: "Be sure to have an Android device connected to the machine. We do not support running in an Emulator."
My question is >>> How can I test my app? Is what have been mentioned is true?! I think that this tutorial is old because they are talking about old SDK version.
I thought about using the Eclipse's Emulator, and I tried it, but the app didn't work properly!! I am confused right now; because I don't know whether the problem is that:
                       1) ArcGIS apps don't work on Emulator!
                       2) or My code is wrong!

Thanks.

From what I understand - The emulator is no longer supported. I thought this would have been addressed by now. I agree. the lastthing you really want to do is compile an application and test on a device. Sketchy. Might need to use an older device for testing?
0 Kudos
deleted-user-ATjHIWsdQYmT