Creating a Network / Accessability

10-14-2012 10:36 PM
ChrisKreiner
New Contributor III
Hello everybody,

i must say that i'm a network analyst beginner. I need to model accessability for Tram-Stations (Only Pedestrian!). So my base-data (data based on OSM) is

the street-network (without motor- and highways)
the rail network
the footways
and the Tram-Stations as points

I tried to create a mulitnodal network, but like in the network analyst tutorial (Exercise 2: http://help.arcgis.com/en/arcgisdesktop/10.0/pdf/network-analyst-tutorial.pdf), there are no attributes created automatically. I think this is because of the missing information in the attribute table of the base-data. i read through the arcgis help, but i found nothing about the requirements of creating a multimodal network.

With which attributes i have to start with, before i can create a multimodal network (like in Excerise 2)??
i hope someone understands my problem and can help me a little bit (sorry for my english)

Best wishes,
Chris

PS: i tried to find (and get) the tutorial data to train a litte bit with it, but the customer care of arcgis is not very helpful (resp. i'm not able to get data from there).
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
6 Replies
RamB
by
Occasional Contributor III
Hi,

Some basic info you need

1. travel time on each link (this can be same for both directions, or you could create different travel times for each direction with two attributes)
2. one-way restrictions

regards,
0 Kudos
ChrisKreiner
New Contributor III
Hey,

is it necessary (before creating a network) to create a topology for the above mentioned feature classes? Or is it enough do define the relationships between the features classes by defining the connectivity?

My first step (before all others) is to check and repair the geometry.

best regards
0 Kudos
RamB
by
Hi,