Import 3D models error

10-12-2012 10:59 PM
LinaYatim
New Contributor
Hi all,

I'm new to CityEngine and I was asked to build a 3D model from a 3D data drawn in AutoCAD.
I tried to import points, lines, and polygons as a shapefile into CityEngine, but it didn't work. Sometimes it gives me an error saying that the file is unsupported, and sometimes it imports the data but nothing appears on the Scene. And also I recieved a message one time saying that the location is too far from the currunt scene's contents even though they are from the same file with the same coordinates.

Finaly I imported the polygon shapefile, but I need the other files to complete my task.

Please, can anyone help me with that?

Thank you!
LinaYat
0 Kudos
6 Replies
MatthiasBuehler1
Frequent Contributor
Hey LinaYat !

Welcome to the Forum !!

First, I recommend the video tutorials and the written tutorials you can find here :
http://forums.arcgis.com/threads/64843-CityEngine-Collection-RESOURCES-FAQ-HELP

You'll see how to import data into your scene and how to frame them in the view with the 'f' key. You'll hear my annoying voice .. 🙂

The message that data is too far from the origin means that you have some data in the origin and want to place more data very far away from that origin. This is prevented due to possible imprecisions.

Really start with a new scene, and try to preprocess all data so it just uses 1 projection for all data.

Let me know how you're starting off with CE.

Kind greetings !

matthias
BruceCuthbert1
New Contributor II
I am really interested in trying out cityengine for community planning. I see that you now have a video describing this. Excellent.

I have been trying to import dxf and dwg data to cityengine of Esquimalt, BC, Canada. I keep getting a geolocation error which states my data is outside the extents??
0 Kudos
MatthiasBuehler1
Frequent Contributor
Hi !

DWG is not supported in CE.