Arcobjects sample not running in eclipse

Jump to solution
09-27-2012 06:06 AM
AvishekDutta
New Contributor
Hi,

I am new to the world of Arcobjects. To experiment I tried running a sample in eclipse but it pointed out a license issue. I am bit confused now about the pr-requisites so help is much needed.

I am running Desktop 10.1 on windows xp. I have also installed the Arcobjects sdk for Java. I have the license(s) and have already registered the product and extensions.

After configuring eclipse following http://resources.esri.com/help/9.3/arcgisengine/java/doc/91b1bd68-21a5-404d-b0d3-cc55086d2b68.htm (here it talks about ArcGIS engine but I did the same steps for ArcObjects) I was able to add create a "ArcObjects Sample" as a new project in eclipse. This is the custom tool "delete features". When I run the ToolRunner class I get the message "Could not initialize an Engine or Basic License. Exiting application." which comes from the static method initializeArcGISLicenses(AoInitialize aoInit).

Now ArcGIS is already running, so I can not understand where the problem is, I don't have ArcGIS engine but a desktop should do fine?

If you can find time to set me right I would be very grateful.

Avishek
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
TomSchuller
Occasional Contributor III
Hy,
I have solved the licensing problem between 10.0 and 10.1 system by defining my own "stable" code.
http://bitbucket.schuller.lu/pchprintsoe/src/aae3114abe00/src/lu/etat/pch/gis/utils/LicenceUtils.jav...

To identify your problem, you could enable the Interop-Logging and check these logs?

Tom

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
11 Replies
AvishekDutta
New Contributor
Hi all,

err...Was my explanation not clear enough?

I am a beginner and this is the only place where I hoped to get some help. If someone is running Arcobjects in Eclipse, it would be great if he/she can give some comments.

Avishek
0 Kudos
LeoDonahue
Avishek,