Python "attribute information tool for xy location"  HELP!  IM A BEGINNER!

09-13-2012 01:53 PM
ChristiNelson1
Occasional Contributor
A co-worker of mine has a couple of web applications that need to call a Geoprocessing Tool.

The tool creation has been assigned to me - but I am a  novice Python programmer. The tool is supposed to act like the 'i' (identify) button on ArcGIS desktop, but instead of returning info about one feature class, it needs to return only one specific attriburte from many feature classes. 

Specifically, it should return city, county, basemap and other feature layer information for a given coordinate. She has requested such a function be created by using Python in ArcMap. The input values are: cooidinate_east, cooidinate_north. The output values are: city_name, county_nm, bmap_code.

Is this possible?  Suggestions?
Christi
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
24 Replies
ArkadiuszMatoszka
Occasional Contributor II
You can create geometry from coordinates:
http://resources.arcgis.com/en/help/main/10.1/index.html#//018z0000006t000000

Than use arcpy.SelectLayerByLocation_management to select feature layers:

http://resources.arcgis.com/en/help/main/10.1/index.html#/Select_Layer_By_Location/00170000007200000...

And search cursor to extract values.

Maybe someone will have better idea, but that should do.

Hope it will help.

Cheers.
0 Kudos
ChristopherThompson
Occasional Contributor III