stevedugdale

How do I process points individually in shapefile containing multiple points?

Discussion created by stevedugdale on Jun 6, 2012
Latest reply on Jun 6, 2012 by jskinner-esristaff
Hi,
This is my first attempt at using python.

I have a shapefile containing mutiple points and need to create an output raster where surrounding cells are given the euclidean distance to a specific point (i.e. NOT the nearest point).  If a tool is used manually from ArcToolbox it only processes selected records.  I have made two attempts (see code below) to select each record in turn using the FID field, and a loop through each record in turn.  However, although it runs and generates a raster for each iteration of the loop, all the output files are identical  (i.e. euclidean distance to NEAREST feature is calculated rather than euclidean distance to a single feature as selected in the loop).  It appears that the record is not "selected" when running my python script.

I tried two methods of attempting to process a single record at a time. 

count = 0

for row in rows:
     count = count + 1
     # print "ITERATION COUNT = " + count
     # print "FID = " + row.FID

print count
     print row.FID

#build the name of output raster: directory + filename HHxxxx_EucD where xxxx is the value of field FID in the input shapefile
     outRaster = os.path.join(outRasterDir, "HH" + str(row.FID) + "_EucD1k")

# Temporary line below to display outraster filename and path (for debugging)
     print outRaster

# Execute EucDistance
     # MAY NEED TO REMOVE PARAMETER outDirectionRaster FROM LINE BELOW AS DIRECTION RASTER IS NOT REQUIRED AND IS AN OPTIONAL PARAMETER
     # outEucDist = EucDistance(inSourceData, maxDistance, cellSize, outDirectionRaster)
     outEucDist = EucDistance(inSourceData, maxDistance, cellSize)

# Save the output
     outEucDist.save(outRaster)

and the second came from another thread as mentioned in comment in code below: