(Beginner) Geostastical Analyst - Memory Error

06-03-2012 02:29 PM
AlanWilliams1
New Contributor
Hi All,

I am relatively new to geostastical analyst and am an archaeologist (generally with nothing more complicated than a shovel normally).

I am trying to undertake a kriging process of about 4,000 data points across Australia to explore human migration. However in the first instance the explore data>semi variogram simply crashes on me every time I use it, and the use of the geostatistical wizard comes up with an out of memory error message. I have reduced the dataset down to about 500 data points (whcih is way to low for my analysis unfortunately), and end up with the same results.

Any advice on where to go from here would be appreciated. Do I need a bigger computer?

Best wishes

Al
0 Kudos
5 Replies
boonejardot
New Contributor
What are your computer specs?  Did you run the system prerequisite check before installing?  Second thing. Kriging is very complex.  Be sure to talk with someone who has done similiar studies on migration with kriging because there are several different ways to krig the same points and get vastly different results. You might want to check other peer reviewed articles that used kriging effectively.  Just a suggestion. Be sure to experiment with several models, and pick one that matches the data that you have. 

If you computer has enough resources to run the program, and enough hard drive and memory, then it may be a simple fact of data preparation.  Is the data projected?  It needs to be if you are kriging((since kriging relies on the semivariogram and interpolation both which rely on correct distances)).  I cant remember the maximum points kriging allows, but I do know the more points the better so feel good about that.  There is a help button in the kriging tool, that will give you alot of information about kriging.