Batch Copy Shapefiles to Geodatabse: How to improve current script

05-20-2012 05:28 AM
PeterWilson
Occasional Contributor III
Firstly, please note that I'm new to programming and Python. I've created the following Python script to loop through a directory, validate the shapefile names that I then copy to a specified File Geodatabase. The are some shapefiles that have that already have "_shp" attached the shapefile name and the "ValidateTableName" adds "_shp" to the output Feature Class. I have striped out "_shp" before copy the shapefile to the Geodatabase. I have noticed that where the shapefile already had "_shp" it drops an additional character at the end. How to i prevent this from happenning. i.e. citiespop_shp.shp = citispo

import arcpy, os
... arcpy.env.workspace = r"S:\Projects\H108392\H108392.gdb"
... arcpy.env.OverwriteOutput = True
... inWksp = r"S:\Projects\H108392\data_received\KageraMonograph\KAGERA_GIS\_Vector_Data"
... for root, dirs, files in os.walk(inWksp):
...     for name in files:
...         if name.endswith(".shp"):
...             path = os.path.abspath(os.path.join(root, name))
...             base = arcpy.ValidateTableName(os.path.basename(path))
...             print "Processing "+base
...             arcpy.CopyFeatures_management(path, "S:/Projects/H108392/H108392.gdb/"+base.rstrip("_shp"))

Any advice would be appreciated and as well as any pointers wher I could improve the structure of my code.

Regards
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
2 Replies
MarcoBoeringa
MVP Regular Contributor