Script Runs in interactive window in ArcMap but not when added to a tool box

Jump to solution
05-10-2012 06:06 AM
PatrickMoulden
Occasional Contributor
I am new to Python (been teaching myself the language only for the past 3 days and don't really have much of a programming background) and am working on a script that automates the process of creating a grid index for generating mapbooks, something I do quite often as a final deliverable at the engineering company I work for. The script uses the current environment settings to determine the output type and grabs the intersect features from the current "Layers" dataframe; the grid size is then determined from the dataframe size and position.  The idea is to create a 'one-click' process for developing an index grid.

The problem is that the code will run fine when run in the interactive python window in ArcMap but will not run when added to a script tool. Any Ideas?

It's still a bit messy and still needs to be cleaned up a good bit but here is what I have so far: