Custom marker symbols

02-26-2012 06:17 PM
GrantCarroll
New Contributor
Hi all

I'm trying to find examples or get advice on how to create a custom marker symbol. Some background, I have a georss feed that provides my site with Hydrological information. What I want to be able to do is display on the map the current value at a monitoring site, along with an image that denotes what type of site that is, eg River flow, Water Temperature etc, The colour of the symbol will change based on a custom parameter in the georss feed which indicates what level of alert the site is in, eg Blue, Green ,Red etc. I can't seem to find any info on how to do this. I'm quite new to the javascript api, but I've done the same thing before in Silverlight, but obviously js is a very different beast.
Any advice or tips on where to find advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
0 Kudos
12 Replies
EdSaunders
Occasional Contributor
Hi Grant,

I haven't worked with GeoRSS before but there are a few things I think you need to do - retrieve the feed, add it to your map and then symbolise the data based on unique values.  If you're familiar with jQuery you could use this blog post to find out how to retrieve and add the feed.  Once you have the data in your map you could use a renderer to symbolise it.  The sample [URL="http://help.arcgis.com/en/webapi/javascript/arcgis/demos/renderer/renderer_unique_value.html]here[/U...] shows how to render data based on unique values in a feature layer.  Obviously you'd be symbolising the graphics added from the rss feed and you'd want to use a markersymbol instead.
0 Kudos
GrantCarroll
New Contributor
Thanks Ed.