How to add address search bar to a map template?

Jump to solution
01-10-2012 02:58 PM
N_Young
New Contributor II
I am an inexperienced programmer.  I have added my map and data to the chrome-identify template for Javascript (following the template process here in the "Getting Started" section).  All is working well. The problem is that I need an address search bar on this template.

What is the most simple way to add an address search bar/address location tool to my template?

Only the "basic viewer" template includes an address search bar.  I don't want to use this template because I want the identify sidebar that is already set up in the other template.

Frankly, this sample code (go to Address Matching - Find an Address on the left sidebar)  looks too hard for me to try to add to my template.  Please let me know if there are any easier options.

Thanks!
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
AndyGup
Esri Regular Contributor
@Natalie, you are on the right track. The Address Matching sample that you referenced is what needs to be coded into your existing application. If you wish to give it a try I have several suggestions. You're really close and it's not too many steps:

1) Copy the following HTML tags into your template's index.html file and place this beneath the <div id="description"></div>:

<div><textarea type="text" id="address"/>380 New York St, Redlands</textArea> <br /> <button dojotype="dijit.form.Button" onclick="locate()"> Locate</button></div> 

2) In layout.js do the following:
- copy and paste this at the top of the page:      
dojo.require("esri.tasks.locator"); dojo.require("dijit.form.Button");

- copy and paste these two lines of code right inside the function initMap():
locator = new esri.tasks.Locator("http://tasks.arcgis.com/ArcGIS/rest/services/WorldLocator/GeocodeServer"); dojo.connect(locator, "onAddressToLocationsComplete", showResults);