OD Cost matrix:  Not all lines solved

11-16-2011 07:25 AM
CognoscoOxymoron
New Contributor
Dear all,

I am an ArcGIS newbie so please forgive me for this basic question.

I am trying to measure the shortest distances between a set of 15 origins and a set of 148 destinations along a road network.

When I load the locations for the origins and destinations and select solve, it only return 65 lines.  I want to know the shortest distance between each origin and each destination i.e. 15 x 148 observations. 

The analysis setting specified is 'cost' which I set as the field that measures the length of each road in the network when I created and built the road network dataset in ArcCatalogue.  What am I missing? 

Any insight appreciated.

Thank you.

Omar
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
5 Replies
JaySandhu
Esri Regular Contributor
If all paths are not found then that means some destinations are not reachable or unlocated on the network. This can either be due to connectivity issues where some edges are not connected to other or it could be due to restrictions and one way streets. If you have restrictions, try turning them off and re-solve to see if you get more or all the paths.

Jay Sandhu
CognoscoOxymoron
New Contributor
Dear Jay

Thank you for your rapid response.  I redefined the connectivity as you suggested, changing it from 'endpoint' to 'any vertex' and happily it did return 855 paths this time.  Problem partly solved!

However, I should have 15 x 148 paths i.e.2220, so I am still missing some.  I did not specify any restrictions (where would I turn them off?).  There are only a few unlocated destinations (how would I locate these?) - not enough to explain the missing paths. 

Can there be any other explanation?  Thank you again.

Omar
0 Kudos
JaySandhu
Esri Regular Contributor