Distance by road between pairs of points

10-20-2011 08:57 AM
RaviNarayanan1
New Contributor
I am new to ArcGIS.

My interest is in calculating the distance by road between pairs of points (there are a large number of these pairs of geocoded addresses).

point_distance seems to calculate the distance between points on one layer and all the points on another layer (I think straight line distance), but not between two specific points.

I don't know if there a way to do this using network analysis. I can use python if there are some libraries/scripts available.

Thanks for your help
0 Kudos
2 Replies
markdenil
Occasional Contributor III
This is, indeed, one of the things Network Analyst does. It operates on the measured distances along the line, or on the collection of lines (routes). Dynamic Segmentation allows events (such as your addresses) to happen between points that are not line end nodes.
0 Kudos
RichardFairhurst
MVP Honored Contributor
I agree with mdenil.  If you need to traverse the network between each and every address, Network Analyst is the only way to go.  It can solve for various conditions such as shortest distance or shortest time of travel based on speed limits and road classification, and take into account barriers, turn restrictions and other factors.