list of barriers

09-21-2011 08:23 AM
JillianStanford
Occasional Contributor III
Hello,
I'm new to NA and trying to figure out if the following is possible:

I've got a network dataset of toll roads and I want to generate a route between an entry and exit point and then generate a list of toll plazas and their associated tolls along the route. I'm having no problem setting the toll plazas as cost barriers, generating the route and getting the accumulated toll but is there a way to get a list of barriers encountered along the route?

Ultimately I'll be accessing this as an ArcGIS Server service from Silverlight. There is a Barriers property returned by the RouteTask but it appears to be every barrier in the layer.

Is the only way to retrieve a list of barriers to do a separate spatial query?

Thanks!
Jill
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
8 Replies
JoeBorgione
MVP Emeritus
Hello,
I'm new to NA and trying to figure out if the following is possible:

I've got a network dataset of toll roads and I want to generate a route between an entry and exit point and then generate a list of toll plazas and their associated tolls along the route. I'm having no problem setting the toll plazas as cost barriers, generating the route and getting the accumulated toll but is there a way to get a list of barriers encountered along the route?

Ultimately I'll be accessing this as an ArcGIS Server service from Silverlight. There is a Barriers property returned by the RouteTask but it appears to be every barrier in the layer.

Is the only way to retrieve a list of barriers to do a separate spatial query?

Thanks!
Jill

Your barriers are a feature class right?  Can't you just select the current route and then do a spatial selection based of the barriers/tolls based on proximity to the current route? (Can't help you with silver light althought there is a guy lurking out there that probably can.  Alexey are you reading this?!)
That should just about do it....
0 Kudos
JillianStanford
Occasional Contributor III