ArcMap tools not returning transactions

09-21-2011 06:53 AM
SusanEnyedy-Goldner
New Contributor
Hello everyone,

I am new to using JTX and trying to set up a test environment. I cannot get the ArcMap Transaction tools to work and am calling on your expertise, I may be missing something obvious here.

I have set up workflow for a job step to smart-launch ArcMap. Once in ArcMap, I make a number feature edits, save, yet when I try to use either the Feature Inspector by clicking on the feature, or the Transaction Inspector, I get "no transactions found".

I believe I have correctly worked through the post-install to set up users and privileges, and registered the datasets I am editing with JTX for the GlobalID field.

Anything I else that I need to do?

I am not using versioning (editing the default database) and am using JTX 9.3.1 build 128 on a SQL Server database.

Thanks!
Sue Enyedy-Goldner
Halton Region
0 Kudos
4 Replies
BrianDemers
Esri Contributor
Hi Sue,

I believe that you'll need to have versioning and geodatabase archiving enabled on your geodatabase in order for the transaction/history tools to work.

When I've used them in the past, I would:

1. Create an editing version with the "Create Version" step

2. Make my data edits on that version

3. Use the "Workflow Manager Custom Post" tool (briefly described here) to post these edits back to the default version.

If you have GDB archiving enabled, it's this custom post that links your job to that specific group of edits.  (...and you can't do a post unless you're doing versioned editing.)

One important clarification: you only want versioning/archiving enabled on your *data* tables and feature classes, not your Workflow Manager tables/FCs.

I hope that helps,

Brian D.
0 Kudos
BrianDemers
Esri Contributor
Hi Sue,

I don't recall all of the details about 9.3.1, but I'm fairly certain that you'll need to:

1. Register your datasets as versioned

2. Register your datasets with JTX (like you already did)