Problem with Update Cursor

09-19-2011 05:33 PM
DeidreEllis
New Contributor II
Hi,
Im new to Python and have been trying to teach myself.
I am trying to calculate fields based on the results of two fields and read that using an update cursor is the best way to do this. I have attemped to create one but it still doesn't work, its not returning any errors but its doens't return any results.

Help!!

#--------------------------------
import os
import sys
import arcpy
import arcgisscripting
import functools
import arcpy.geoprocessing

def updateCursor(str):
    """Update fields based on analyis"""
    try:
        arcpy.gp._base._updateCursor = True
        arcpy.env.overwriteOutput = True
        arcpy.env.workspace = "C:\Temp\BAL_Mapping.gdb"

# Create Update Cursor for feature Class
        rows = arcpy.gp._base._updateCursor ("C:\Temp\BAL_Mapping.gdb\INTERFACE")
        rows = row.next ()
        while row:
            if row.Slope == "0-5" and row.Veg == "Woodland":
                row.BALFZ = "15"
            elif row.Slope == "0-5" and row.Veg == "Forest":
                row.BALFZ = "24"
            else:
                row.BALFZ = "0"
            rows.row (row)
            row = row.next ()

pass
    except arcpy.ExecuteError:
        print arcpy.GetMessages(2)
    except Exception as e:
        print e.args[0]

# End updateCursor function

if __name__ == '__main__':
    argv = tuple(arcpy.GetParameterAsText(i)
            for i in range(arcpy.GetArgumentCount()))
    updateCursor(str)
Tags (2)
17 Replies
StacyRendall1
Occasional Contributor III
Hey,

good work having a crack at this; unfortunately your script seems a little more complicated than necessary (I guess you have been reading some Python books, or are used to programming in something like C++). A good place to start for these kind of things is the ESRI documentation for Arcpy; i.e. UpdateCursor (whenever I get stuck I just google "arcpy thing" for whatever thing I am having trouble with).