Adding individual layer from map service

09-09-2011 01:01 PM
LAGICLSU
New Contributor
Hello I'm new to ArcGIS online.

I understand only map services may be added and subsequently searched for/added in the ArcGIS online map function.

I am in the process of adding many files from our web service to ArcGIS online, but I am unsure as to how to add individual layers.

For example, from this particular service:

http://lagic03.lsu.edu/ArcGIS/rest/services/Biological/MapServer

I would like to add each layer individually, because if I simply type the above URL into the "Add Item" dialogue, it adds all the layers.

So if, for example, I wanted to add layer 2 from the aforementioned service, I type the following into the "Add Item" dialogue window:

http://lagic03.lsu.edu/ArcGIS/rest/services/Biological/MapServer/2

However, as soon as I click off of the URL box, the "/2" gets deleted and only the "http://lagic03.lsu.edu/ArcGIS/rest/services/Biological/MapServer" URL is left. This of course adds all the layers.

I tried adding a slash to the end of the URL, after the 2, but still could not achieve the desired result.

Is it possible to add individual layers from these map services, or must I move the layers into their own "MapServer" area? Or what can I add after the layer number in the URL in order to ensure that only that layer is added?

Thank you very much for your help
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
3 Replies
MikeMinami
Esri Notable Contributor
It is possible. However, my question is why do you want to do this?

In looking at your map service, it seems like you have several layers of biological data, however, they are somewhat disparate in nature. Another approach would be to author more than one map service and put those layers in it that you're likely to use together to "mash-up" on the web. For example, you might put your seabird layers in one map service, the bear sightings in another and the public oyster areas in a third.