Slow routing?

07-19-2011 11:18 AM
DennisKopp
New Contributor
Hello everyone, let my preface by saying that I am very new to ArcGIS, and to the world of GIS in general.  My employer has purchased ArcGIS with the premium data to do some routing and geo-coding.  I am not having any issues with the geo-coding, but with the routing I am having some performance issues. 

I have added a map of the US, and added the network dataset "streets" that comes with the premium data pack.  I have added two points on the map that have quite a distance between them (I was using L.A. and St Louis just to test with), and it takes about 30 seconds to calculate the route.  I get this speed on our desktop machine with ArcMap, and with our server after I published the map to it.  The server has way better specs than the desktop machine so I would expect it to be faster.  As another comparison, when I throw this route at the ESRI sample server, it completes in about 10 seconds, so I am sure there is some configuration that I am not aware of that is causing it to go so slowly.

As a side note, but possibly related, when attempting to do the route on our server, only 25% of the CPU is being utilized.  We ran some benchmarks on the hardware and it is working as it should (all 4 processors were maxed).

Any help that you could offer would greatly be appreciated.  If there is any other information that I can provide to assist, please let me know.

Thank You,
Dennis
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
3 Replies
JaySandhu
Esri Regular Contributor
There can be a few things to watch out for. Number one is where is the network dataset located? Is it on a local hard disk? Network solves are data intensive and the access to the data will dictate how fast the shortest paths will be computed.
Also, I assume you have the Hierarchy ON.
As far as CPU being 25 percent, is it a quad core machine? If one core is 100% busy it will show up as 25% overall. ArcMap solves use one core only.
Jay Sandhu
0 Kudos
DanielGarcia