Calculating surface water runoff volume

06-21-2011 11:49 AM
AdamDeZeeuw
New Contributor
I'm trying to calculate how much water will runoff of a area through a given point.  I have the DEM of my area and the soil data.  I've already delineated the drainage basin that feeds the pour point and created flow direction and flow accumulation, but now I'm stuck trying to combine that data with the soil data.  Obviously not all of the water will flow through the pour point, most will get absorbed by the ground, but I was hoping to get a rough estimate of the runoff volume at the pour point based on a rainfall total of X inches. Thanks
0 Kudos
6 Replies
JoanneDollasin
New Contributor
Hi! I'm a newbie in ArcGIS & I have the same problem...
anybody out there ps help us,.... ESRI Forums MVP?? where are you guys?
What datasets do I need to estimate volumetric flow (cubic meter per second) of streams/rivers?
How do I do the processing? pls help. As of now, I have the following:
1. DEM (20-m res),
2. Rivers/streams network (polylines)
3. Soil data (polygon) -- only description of soil types, no runoff coefficient
4. Rainfall data (polylines) -- info on precipitation (mm)
Pls help. Thanks.
0 Kudos
MarkBoucher
Occasional Contributor III
I think you are asking a bit much of GIS. Calculating the runoff volume is more of a hydrology function. Arc GIS and Arc Hydro don't perform hydrology calculations. They can help gather the data needed for hydrology (area, watershed slope, longest flow path, etc.). You've already done that it seems.

It may be that the data you've collect is enough to calculate the runoff using a simplistic method such as the Rational Method. Your local jurisdiction (County or City) should be able to direct you on what procedures you should use. They would likely have runoff coefficients for you