Union polygons

05-16-2011 07:32 AM
MilaReady__GISP
New Contributor
Good morning,

I have about 400 shapefiles, each containing one polygon, that I would like to combine into one master.  I need to remove numerous fields since each GPS unit used to collect the data has different default fields/properties.  Additionally, I need to add several fields for queries which are not defaults for any GPS units (i.e. Permit #, Date, Mineral, Status, etc). So, how to proceed?  I am new to ArcInfo, and there is currently no geodatabase structure in place.   Thank you very much!
0 Kudos
7 Replies
DarrenWiens2
MVP Honored Contributor
If you want to planarize overlapping features (squish them into one feature), use the Union tool. If you don't want to planarize overlapping features (keep overlapping features separate), use the Merge tool. I don't know if there is a limit to the number of shapefiles you can combine at once. Then, use Delete Field to drop fields. Use Add Field to add each field.
0 Kudos
MilaReady__GISP
New Contributor
Darren,
Thanks for the help.  I have the tables behind each shapefile cleaned up and ready to perform the union.  However, I keep getting "Error 000210: Cannot create output".  I have tried the Repair Geometry tool, but it also produces "Error 111461: Repaired feature 0 because of self intersections".  Any futher suggestions?  Thanks in advance!
0 Kudos
DarrenWiens2
MVP Honored Contributor
Can you post a few of your polygon files?
0 Kudos
MilaReady__GISP
New Contributor
The zip file contains two of my problematic files... the attribute tables and field properties are identical, and I am hoping to avoid having to edit every bad polygon by hand.  Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated!
~Mila
0 Kudos
DarrenWiens2
MVP Honored Contributor