DEM statistics

05-08-2011 04:55 PM
annelisebissett
New Contributor
Hi,

I am fairly new to using ArcGIS (GIS software in general, actually!) and I am trying to generate info for some points (sample locations) using a DEM. I've tried to figure out how to do this using the manual but am a bit overwhelmed & unsure about the correct methods!

Using the DEM, I hope to determine the slope, upslope contributing area and topographic wetness index for each of my sample locations. At present, my sample points are a separate layer to my DEM.

Do I need to merge or overlay these points to the DEM before I can calculate slope, UCA and TWI? If so, how is this done?

I have not delineated the boundary of the catchment I am working in, and my DEM extends beyond the catchment boundary. I have the catchment boundary in a separate layer - is it possible to clip the DEM using this boundary layer?

Is Spatial Analyst the correct extension to carry out these processes?

I know this is a lot of questions, but if anyone can help me with just one of them, that would be great!

Thanks for your help,
Anna
0 Kudos
4 Replies
TimothyHales
Esri Notable Contributor
Hi Anna!

Yes, the Spatial Analyst extension tools are what you should be using.  You can either clip the DEM to the boundary or you can set the processing extent to the boundary in the environment settings of the tool.  You will need to first calculate the slope, upslope contributing area and topographic wetness index.  Then with these rasters use the Extract Values to Points tool to get the values of the underlying raster for each point.

I hope this helps.  Let me know if you have any questions.

-Timothy
0 Kudos
TimothyHales
Esri Notable Contributor
To add to my previous post...