Raster: Calculating all cells within the new resampling boundary

03-31-2011 10:00 PM
DanKips
New Contributor
Hello,

I am new to raster analysis. I have a raster layer of 30x30m and wanted to resample to 2000x2000m. The four built-in resampling option in ArcView 9.3.1 (Nearest, Bilinier, Cubic & Majority) only consider 1, 4, or 16 nearest cell centers.

Rather than selecting 1, 4 or 16 cells, I wanted to average ALL of the value of cell centers that occur inside the new cells' boundary. In my case of resampling from 30x30 to 2000x2000, according to my calculator, this is an average of 4444 cells. How can I compute the mean of these 4444 cells within the boundary of the new 2000x2000 grid? After calculating the mean, I would probably need to resample this new grid with the Nearst Neighbor method to get the 2000x2000 grid?

Please help, thank you.
0 Kudos
4 Replies
JeffLee
New Contributor II
Dan;

Create a grid or a feature class of the new cell extents and use spatial analyst to run a zonal statistics.  In the dialog box pick "mean" as the statistic to compute.
0 Kudos
DanKips
New Contributor
Hi Jeff, thanks for your input and my apologies for the late reply. I did lots of reading and tried many steps but I think I need more help...

Create a grid or a feature class of the new cell extents and use spatial analyst to run a zonal

statistics.  In the dialog box pick "mean" as the statistic to compute.

What I did so far following your steps:

- Creating new raster 2000x2000

ArcToolbox > Data Management Tools > Raster > Raster Processing > Resample
Input Raster: raster30 (which is the original 30x30m)
Output Raster Dataset: raster2000 (the new 2000x2000m)
Output Cell Size (optional): 2000
Resampling Technique: Nearest

So the output from above is raster2000.img which also have 3 other files (.vat.dbfm, .img.xml and .rrd).

- Zonal Statistics

ArcToolbox > Spatial Analyst Tool > Zonal > Zonal Statistics
Input raster: raster2000
Zone field: VALUE