Find shortest route and export links that make up the route

04-28-2020 02:51 PM
FernandoCordero_Montoya1
New Contributor II

Hello. I am new at AcrPy and coding in general. I am working on the following task using ArcMap 10.7 Python Toolbox.

We are able to use the ArcPy code to generate a Network Dataset in ArcMap using Network Analyst functions. We want to find the shortest route between location A and location B listed in a feature class. 

What we'd like is: 

1- the shortest route (distance) from A to B, and

2 - the list of links that make up this route. Is this a property we can extract from the route?

In our code, we will be doing this thousand times, so we would like to avoid exporting thousands of routes if possible. Instead, we'd like to store the links in a large array.

We would greatly appreciate any suggestions or/and advice.

0 Kudos
5 Replies
JaySandhu
Esri Regular Contributor

After you solve a route analysis layer, you can run the GP tool Copy Traversed Source Features that creates a new feature class for the edges that made up the route. Also creates feature classes for the junctions and turns.

I did not understand your question on running a thousand times and NOT exporting it each time. What are your trying to do?

More info about the tool:

Copy Traversed Source Features—ArcGIS Pro | Documentation 

Jay Sandhu

FernandoCordero_Montoya1
New Contributor II

Hello Jay,

Thanks for your response.

We have over 1,000 zones that are connected with a network. We want to find and export the shortest route from A to B, A to C, A to D, A to n, etc. Then repeat from B to C, B to D, B to n. 

I was trying to find the route using Make Route Layer, however, the output feature class did not contain any values. I understand that the route details from "A" to "A" is zero (0) but there should be info for "A to B" and "A to C", "A to D"....etc.