Only some records from a shapefile will upload to ArcGIS Online?

Jump to solution
03-19-2020 07:03 AM
CoreyWills
New Contributor

I'm trying to upload a shapefile with 552 records to ArcGIS Online, but for some reason only 10 records will upload. I've tried it multiple times and it's the same (seemingly random) records each time. Has anyone else had this issue? What did you do about it? I'm very new to this, so I'm hoping I'm just missing something that can be easily fixed.

Thanks!

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
BenTurrell
Occasional Contributor III

Corey Wills‌,

If you have a look at this page about ArcGIS Online styles you will find that you can have up to 200 unique values but it reuses the same 10 colours: Style categories—ArcGIS Online Help | Documentation 

If you swap to displaying by location only and set a common symbol you should be able to see all of them.

Thanks,

Ben

View solution in original post

13 Replies
by Anonymous User
Not applicable

Hey Corey,

How are you adding this data to ArcGIS Online?  Are you getting this issue with every shapefile or is the problem with just this one in particular?  

This article might be helpful depending on your specific situation  - Problem: Receiving errors when uploading a shapefile to ArcGIS Online, Business Analyst Online, or C... 

0 Kudos
CoreyWills
New Contributor

Hi Will,

Thanks for your response! I'm only getting this issue with this shapefile. The poster below pointed out that all records uploaded, but just aren't showing. Do you know how to make all of the records show?

While we're on the subject (this is a bit of a tangent but still relates to uploads), do you by any chance know how to get around the 1,000 record upload limit? I'm trying to upload a shapefile which has 1,000+ records with no luck.

Best,

Corey

0 Kudos
BenTurrell

Corey Wills‌,

You should be able to upload more than 1000+ features. Have you tried using the Add Item button in ArcGIS Online?