No editable layers

02-21-2020 10:50 AM
Labels (3)
JasonBruhn
New Contributor II

I am extremely new to ArcGIS Pro and i have started my training plans and they are going well , but i decided to put what i have learned so far  to the test and each time i open a new map in ArcGIS pro 2.5 i get errors saying "No editable layers" . i have a personal use license and i can not find a step by step guide to resolve problem and its growing increasing frustrating. I wish start a career in ArcGIS and i dont seem to have these problem with ArcGIS online , should i just be using that or is there a solution to my problem. i would prefer to use ArcGIS  pro. Any help would be greatly appreciated 

Thank you

0 Kudos
7 Replies
PanGIS
by
Occasional Contributor III

Hi,When 

you say you open a map, is this an existing map created by others or it is just an empty map?

If it has already been created and has layers in it, where these layers come from (shp, geodatabase.....)

0 Kudos
Suzanne-Boden
Esri Regular Contributor

Hi Jason, can you share a screenshot of your ArcGIS Pro window? Have you added content from ArcGIS Living Atlas to the map? If so, some of that content is not editable.

0 Kudos
JasonBruhn
New Contributor II

Ok so when i open ArcGIS Pro i click the map button for a new project. This is my screen with all drop downs open , It could very well be im doing something wrong or missed something but i can not seem to add anything to the new map . Here is the screen shot 

0 Kudos
PanGIS
by
Occasional Contributor III

Hi Jason, 

There is nothing to edit here.

You cannot edit the basemap.

Start some basic tutorial.

Introducing ArcGIS Pro—ArcGIS Pro | Documentation 

ArcGIS Pro quick-start tutorials—ArcGIS Pro | Documentation 

JasonBruhn
New Contributor II

Thank you very much i didnt see those tutorials , i have been using the training on the ESRI site but alot of them have downloadable data. But thank you ill get on those straight away 

0 Kudos
HeatherSmith