Sudden Slow Editing of Enterprise GDB Feature Class in ArcMap 10.7

01-31-2020 10:31 AM
JasonHoward
New Contributor II

I have a large feature class stored in a versioned enterprise geodatabase (v 10.7 in SQL Server 2017, features stored as GEOMETRY). I have been working on these data for a few months with no problems. The data are building outlines, so lots of discrete polygons. Presently there are nearly 1.6 million records in the database. Until a couple of days ago, I was able to add new outlines easily using the ArcMap editing tools – fairly straightforward, with lots of rectangles and right angles. I then received a group of new outlines from a consultant and I set about pasting those in a bit at a time (I’m working off a review grid for my own sanity). Then after pasting in several new additions, amounting to a few tens of thousands of records, editing the data slowed to a crawl. Snapping became all but impossible. In trying to draw a new outline, several seconds would pass between adding a vertex and being able to add another vertex. I thought, “Well of course performance sucks, it’s time to compress.” Then having compressed, I saw no change in performance.

Here’s what I set about doing:

1. I realized pretty quickly that I had exceeded the original extent of the feature class. OK, there’s a GP tool for that… Ran that, and the extent of the feature class didn’t budge. Tried to update it manually through ArcCatalog. Same. Finally updated it in the spatial index in SQL Server… made no difference.
  2. Rebuilt the spatial index. No change in performance. Delete the spatial index and rebuild it. No change in performance. Rebuild the spatial index in SQL Server. No change in performance.
  3. Recalculated statistics and rebuilt the only index on the feature class (ObjectID). No change in performance.