Points inside Polygons by Time

09-05-2019 04:21 PM
JesseIsaacson
New Contributor

Hi! 

I am fairly new to ArcMap and the newest version my company has full licensing of is ArcMap 10.1.  (We also have some of the extra tools licensed)  

I have a set of points on the map (pickups and dropoffs), each corresponding to a time field.  I also have a set of polygons (bus routes), which all have start and end times.  Is it possible for me to find which points fall inside the polygons both geometrically AND by time?  I know I could do a spatial join for just geometric, but the time is getting me.  Is there any way to do this?  Basically I'm trying to find out if these trips are ADA compliant (within 3/4 mile of active bus route).

Thanks!

0 Kudos
4 Replies
MelindaMorang
Esri Regular Contributor

Hello Jesse.  This is not the first question I've seen where someone was trying to determine whether paratransit pick-ups and drop-offs fall within the service hours of a bus line.  Is this something that people commonly need to do as part of ADA requirements?  I know that the federal mandate places the paratransit service area within 3/4 of a mile of fixed-route bus lines, and I'm considering making a tool that will calculate this automatically, but I was unaware of a time of day requirement.  Can you point me toward some official documentation explaining that requirement, or otherwise further explain why you need to do this?

Regarding your question: ArcGIS 10.1 isn't supported by Esri anymore, as the product has been retired in favor of newer versions.  Here is some documentation about how to use the time slider to filter time-enabled data: Using the Time Slider window—Help | ArcGIS Desktop I don't know whether that was available as far back as 10.1, though.

Here is similar information for ArcGIS Pro: Set the time properties on data—ArcGIS Pro | ArcGIS Desktop 

0 Kudos
JesseIsaacson
New Contributor

Melinda,